Image

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz | Monday Book Review

Title:

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe


Author:

Benjamin Alire Sáenz


Pages:

360 pages


Publishing Details:

2012 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers


Genre:

Realistic Fiction


Format:

Paperback


Literary Awards:

Stonewall Book Award for Children’s and Young Adult Literature (2013), Michael L. Printz Award Nominee (2013), Lambda Literary Award for LGBT Children’s/Young Adult (2013), Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis Nominee for Jugendbuch (2015), Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award (ALAN/NCTE) Nominee (2013), Pura Belpré Award for Narrative (2013)


Summary:

Dante can swim. Ari can’t. Dante is articulate and self-assured. Ari has a hard time with words and suffers from self-doubt. Dante gets lost in poetry and art. Ari gets lost in thoughts of his older brother who is in prison. Dante is fair skinned. Ari’s features are much darker. It seems that a boy like Dante, with his open and unique perspective on life, would be the last person to break down the walls that Ari has built around himself.

But against all odds, when Ari and Dante meet, they develop a special bond that will teach them the most important truths of their lives, and help define the people they want to be. But there are big hurdles in their way, and only by believing in each other―and the power of their friendship―can Ari and Dante emerge stronger on the other side.


Review:

Wow, this book was amazing. Firstly, it is not what people assume from the back.
This is a coming of age story about two boys who discover the secrets of things that are maybe not so vast as the universe, but they matter the most to any individual.
I was worried because the main characters are 15, and I didn’t want the book to be kiddish.

Although there were a few things that they hadn’t experienced before, it wasn’t irritating to read about. It was an entirely different perspective.

The writing was simply beautiful and simple.
I seriously recommend it to people who want to read LGBTQ books and contemporaries.
I connected to the characters a lot and felt that at some point, everyone goes through in their lives.

I wish I could have given it a full 5, I really wish I did. I almost gave it 4.5, but I wasn’t THAT into the story. If I love a book, I’d want to read it no matter where or whatever time it is. And I know this could be because I usually read after being exhausted, but ah well.


Quotes:

“Words were different when they lived inside of you.”

“I bet you could sometimes find all the mysteries of the universe in someone’s hand.”

“I got to thinking that poems were like people. Some people you got right off the bat. Some people you just didn’t get–and never would get.”

“Another secret of the universe: Sometimes pain was like a storm that came out of nowhere. The clearest summer could end in a downpour. Could end in lightning and thunder.”

“We all fight our own private wars.”

“Summer was here again. Summer, summer, summer. I loved and hated summers. Summers had a logic all their own and they always brought something out in me. Summer was supposed to be about freedom and youth and no school and possibilities and adventure and exploration. Summer was a book of hope. That’s why I loved and hated summers. Because they made me want to believe.”


Rating:

4


I’ll be starting a shout out series to a bunch of awesome people I follow so that you guys can check their blogs too! 🙂

Today, I’ll be shouting out to Overflowing Bookshelves. Her reviews are always fun to read, and generally make me want to read the books mentioned! 😀

One thought on “Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz | Monday Book Review

Leave a Reply

