Image

The Martian by Andy Weir | Book Review

Title:

The Martian


Author:

Andy Weir


Published:

2011


Format:

Audiobook


Pages:

(in the physical book) 385


Summary:

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there. After a dust storm nearly kills him & forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded & completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—& even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive. Chances are, though, he won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first. But Mark isn’t ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills—& a relentless, dogged refusal to quit—he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?


Review:

1. Everyone in this book, especially the protagonist, Watney IS DOWNRIGHT SASSY AND SARCASTIC AS FUCK.
2. AND I LOVE THAT!
3. How the hell did his mind work so much, I have absolutely no friggin idea.
4. There were a few instances where it got really boring and when he just blabbed on and on about scientific shit. BUT, I still enjoyed it A LOT.
5. I miss reading about him now.
6. The person who narrated the thing, is the perfect voice for Watney ❤
7. I’m amazed at how quickly all his crew members got ready to extend their trip, no matter how dangerous it was, to save him. That’s the amount of loyalty we need in our lives.
8. I love how Watney does exactly what NASA tells him NOT to. Its hilarious! After a while, even NASA sends back sarcastic replies. Like, I can’t even. 😛
9. My heart stopped a few times during certain scenes *cough*explosions*cough*.
10. I loved this book, but due to the places where I got a bit bored, I gave it a 4 star rating instead of 5.

CANNOT WAIT FOR THE BLOODY FILM.


Quotes:

(I have so many that I love.. I can’t even…)

1. “I can’t wait till I have grandchildren. When I was younger, I had to walk to the rim of a crater. Uphill! In an EVA suit! On Mars, ya little shit! Ya hear me? Mars!”

2. “Maybe I’ll post a consumer review. “Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10.”

3. “Actually, I was the very lowest ranked member of the crew. I would only be “in command” if I were the only remaining person.”
What do you know? I’m in command”

4. “Yes, of course duct tape works in a near-vacuum. Duct tape works anywhere. Duct tape is magic and should be worshiped.”

5. “I started the day with some nothin’ tea. Nothin’ tea is easy to make. First, get some hot water, then add nothin’.”

6. “Gay probe coming to save me. Got it.”

7. “If you want to play it safe all the time, go join an insurance company.”

8. “It’s true, you know. In space, no one can hear you scream like a little girl.”

9. “I’m calling it the Watney Triangle because after what I’ve been through, shit on Mars should be named after me.”

10. “I’m even going to electrolyze my urine. That’ll make for a pleasant smell in the trailer.
If I survive this, I’ll tell people I was pissing rocket fuel.”

11. “Blissfull unconsiousness became foggy awareness which transitioned into painful reality”

12. “I admit it’s fatally dangerous,” Watney said. “But consider this: I’d get to fly around like Iron Man.” “We’ll keep working on ideas,” Lewis said. “Iron Man, Commander. Iron Man.”

13. “I tested the brackets by hitting them with rocks. This kind of sophistication is what we interplanetary scientists are known for.”

14. “You may be wondering what else I do with my free time. I spend a lot of it sitting around on my lazy ass watching TV. But also do you, so don’t judge.”

15. “Also, please watch your language. Everything you type is being broadcast live all over the world. [12:15] WATNEY: Look! A pair of boobs! -> (.Y.)”

16. “Not enough,” Annie said. “The press is crawling down my throat for this. And up my ass. Both directions, Venkat! They’re gonna meet in the middle!”

17. “They say once you grow crops somewhere, you have officially ‘colonised’ it. So technically, I colonised Mars.
In your face, Neil Armstrong!”


4 thoughts on “The Martian by Andy Weir | Book Review

  1. Omg I love this too. Your really good at this reviewing thing! I’m the opposite, I think I sound way too serious in my reviews. Anyway, cant wait to read this, I was thinking about buying the ebook but I wasn’t sure if I’d ever actually want to read it. Its defo in my top

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

