Image

The Mind Games Duology Review

Title:

Mind Games | Perfect Lies


Author:

Kiersten White


Published:

2013 | 2014 by HarperTeen


Stand Alone/Series:

Duology


Pages:

256 | 256 pages


Format:

Kobo ePub


Genre:

YA/ Fantasy/ Paranormal


Why I read it:

Recommendation from someone


Summary:

Mind Games –  Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future.

Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways…or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.


Perfect Lies – This explosive sequel to Mind Games, which New York Times bestselling author Holly Black called “a brutal, exciting gem of a book,” is a lightning-fast, wickedly smart tale of two sisters trapped in a web of deceit—perfect for fans of Sara Shepard’s Lying Game series.

For years, Annie and Fia have been in an endless battle for survival against the Keane Foundation. Now the sisters have found allies who can help them escape. But Annie’s visions of the future and Fia’s flawless instincts can’t always tell them who to trust. The sisters can only rely on each other—and even their extraordinary gifts may not be enough to save them.


Review:

Mind Games –  This was yet another quick read. There were a few plot twists I did not see coming. The book was a bit confusing in the end, but I guess the whole thing will get resolved in the second book of the duology.
The characters were interesting, although the one thing I found annoying was Fia’s way of thinking/speaking a word thrice together. Annie was more sensible and kind. Whereas Fia was more on the violent and crazed side.
The concept of girls with powers was not something new, but I would have liked it more if the author had explored the same more.
The whole book was so short I think it could have been merged into one book instead of two books.
There were instances which were out of context and completely unnecessary. But I kept reading, so I wasn’t entirely bored. Therefore, the kinda high rating.
Definitely looking forward to how Keane will go down.


Perfect Lies – This was a bit better than the first book.
Fia continued to remain annoying and confusing and frustrating and not at all developing as a character as she did what she did and never listened to any damn advice from me or she might have gotten any smarter. I wanted to smack her in the face a few times.
Annie, on the other hand developed a lot. She learned stuff and was helping, and also, since the first book focused more on Fia, this one was on Annie.
The writing style was confusing since all the chapters are alternatingly Annie and Fia and they’re set in the past, so its kinda weird and you don’t understand what happened when.
The love interests, if we talk about, I knew it would be the guy for Annie before they revealed it. No plot twist/shock/surprise there. Fia chose the wrong guy. That’s all I’m gonna say. She takes stupid decisions even though her instinct is perfect. HA! So ironic.
This was more fast paced, with a mission while the first book focused on survival.
I didn’t love it though. Fia put me off.


Quotes:

“I am the ocean we lived on for two months. I am empty. I am nothing.”

“If a tree falls in the forest and no one is around, does anyone give a crap?” I mutter.”

“I’m nobody. I’m collateral damage with a lot of training.”

“She told me only people we love the most can destroy us, because no one else has that kind of power.”

“Love is a choice, like anything else.”

“I need to be nothing for a very long time until I can decide what something I want to be.”

“Her voice is as casual as a knife in the gut.”


Rating:

3


P.S – I really liked the book covers though.

2 thoughts on “The Mind Games Duology Review

Leave a Reply

