Image

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

Title:

The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend

Author:

Kody Keplinger

Published:

1st January 2010

Stand Alone/Series:

Stand Alone

Pages:

280 pages

Format:

Kobo

Genre:

YA/Contemporary

Why I read it:

Great ratings from the people I follow on booktube/goodreads

Summary:

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

Review:

This was a cute quick read. I’ve been in a mood for sarcastic female protagonists and this was an absolutely perfect pick for that.

I really liked the characters even though the plot has been used a lot over the past years. It felt a lot original though, then those stories ever did. There were some elements which took me by surprise. The relation of the protagonist with her parents, her friends and her crushes was portrayed really well.
I really liked the cliche bad boy portrayed in Wesley and the not so nerdy Bianca. Sometimes being the DUFF is an amazing thing, and this book just teaches us that no one is perfect or imperfect, we’re just us and that we should accept it.
I like how the pretty ones aren’t a bunch of bitches like they usually are in most of the other books..and its evident that one cannot really judge a person by what people say about them.

P.S – I saw the movie trailer and can’t wait to see the movie!

Quotes:

“No matter where you go or what you do to distract yourself, reality catches up with you eventually.”

“Your sense of humor needs some work, then,” Wesley suggested. “Most girls find my jokes charming.” “Those girls must have IQs low enough to trip over.”

“I was the Duff. And that was a good thing. Because anyone who didn’t feel like the Duff must not have friends. Every girl feels unattractive sometimes. Why had it taken me so long to figure that out? Why had I been stressing over that dumb word for so long when it was so simple? I should be proud to be the Duff. Proud to have great friends who, in their minds, were my Duffs.”

“Spanish, huh?” he said, glancing down at the scattered papers as he grabbed them. “Can you say anything interesting?”
El tono de tu voz hace que queria estrangularme.” I stood up and waited for him to hand over my papers.
“That sounds sexy,” he said, getting to his feet and handing me the stack of Spanish work he’d swept together. “What’s it mean?”
“The sound of your voice makes me want to strangle myself.”
“Kinky.”

Rating:

4

If you have read the book, lemme know what you felt and if you haven’t I suggest you get onto it before the movie comes out! 🙂 What was your last read? 

3 thoughts on “The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

Leave a Reply

