Image

Dash and Lily’s Book Of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn

Title:

Dash and Lily’s Book Of Dares

Author:

David Levithan and Rachel Cohn

Published:

 October 2010

Stand Alone/Series:

Stand Alone

Pages:

274 pages 

Format:

Kobo 

Genre:

Young Adult 

Why I read it:

Booktube! 

Summary:

“I’ve left some clues for you. If you want them, turn the page. If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.” So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the New York Times bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions? Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.

Review:

I read this book in December, perfect time for a holiday fun read. This book is just too cute and adorable. I guess we all want this to happen to us. Meet a great guy in a bookstore, ha! Perfect fantasy. Maybe that’s why this book held such appeal to us book-nerds. The characters were not really A LOT connectable, but I did feel for them, so that says something I guess. But it was the plot that really worked for me. I loved it! Also, the writing as you shall see in the quotes below, was captivating. But alas, I could not give it 5 stars because the characters did do stupid things at times which didn’t make any sense.

A quick fun Christmas-y read, perfect for Contemporary and YA lovers, but also for any person with a liking to books!

Quotes:

 “The important people in our lives leave imprints. They may stay or go in the physical realm, but they are always there in your heart, because they helped form your heart. There’s no getting over that.”

“I’ve always resented Hermione, because I wanted to be her so badly and she never seemed to appreciate as much as I thought she should that she got be her. She got to live at Hogwarts and be friends with Harry and kiss Ron, which was supposed to happen to me.”

“We believe in the wrong things, that’s what frustrates me the most. Not the lack of belief, but the belief in the wrong things. You want meaning? Well, the meanings are out there. We’re just so damn good at reading them wrong.”

“It’s hard to answer a question you haven’t been asked. It’s hard to show you tried unless you end up succeeding.”

“In a field, I am the absence of field. In a crowd, I am the absence of crowd. In a dream, I am the absence of dream. But I don’t want to live as an absence. I move to keep things whole. Because sometimes I feel drunk on positivity. Sometimes I feel amazement at the tangle of words and lives, and I want to be a part of that tangle. “Game over,” you say, and I don’t know which I take more exception to- the fact that you say that it’s over, or the fact that you say it’s a game. It’s only over when one of us keeps the notebook for good. It’s only a game if there is an absence of meaning. And we’ve already gone too far for that.”

“You think fairy tales are only for girls? Here’s a hint—ask yourself who wrote them. I assure you, it wasn’t just the women. It’s the great male fantasy—all it takes is one dance to know that she’s the one. All it takes is the sound of her song from the tower, or a look at her sleeping face. And right away you know—this is the girl in your head, sleeping or dancing or singing in front of you. Yes, girls want their princes, but boys want their princesses just as much. And they don’t want a very long courtship. They want to know immediately.”

Rating:

4

Leave a Reply

